New aldermen sworn in to Plano City Council

Three new aldermen were sworn in Monday night and took their seats on the Plano City Council. Doing the honors of administering the oath to the new council members was Kendall County Circuit Court Judge Stephen L. Krentz of Plano.

All will serve four years in their new positions.

Barb Nadeau replaces Melody Herreid in Ward 1, Jamal Williams replaces Robert Hyde in Ward 2 and Tommy Johns replaces Jeff Johnson in Ward 4.

Following the ceremony and photo ops, Hausler gave each new aldermen a name plaque for the front of his or her desk. The outgoing aldermen received their name plaques as a final gift from the city. None of the incumbents sought re-election.

It was a Kodak moment for each new council member as they posed for photos with friends and family members along with Judge Krentz and Mayor Bob Hausler, who also was re-elected to serve another four-year term in office.

Other incumbents who also took the oath to serve an additional four years were Ward 4 Alderman Stephen DeBolt, City Clerk Kathleen Miller and City Treasurer Janet E. Goehst.

During the Committee of the Whole meeting after the council meeting, Hausler announced appointments he plans to make at the council meeting May 30, when he will ask the aldermen to concur with his choices. All of them are existing city employees.

They include Darrin Boyer, public works director; Janet E. Goehst, budget officer; Kathleen Miller, collector; Jonathon Whowell, police chief; Randy Klatt, street superintendent; Josh Byer, water superintendent; Tom Karpus, director of building, planning and zoning; and Tom Grant, city attorney.

Hausler said he also will ask the council at the next meeting to concur with his reappointment of Cliff Oleson to a five-year term on the plan commission, Jacklyn Niles to another three-year term on the police and fire commission, and Bill Oswald to another two-year term on the police pension fund.

Loading more